For Grandfather

2

January 14, 2014 by Melissa

I really have been crafting. I just haven’t been blogging about it! I started to get into the swing of things – working and making time for fun stuff in the evenings – but then there were the holidays…

But this month (yes, I mean JANUARY!), I finished a very special project. This quilt is for my Grandfather – a Veteran and WWII POW, and a very interesting man to say the least. My grandfather has always awed me with his dapper style, world travels, and great stories. He never been the sort of grandfather to get on the floor and play with his grand kids, rather the kind you appreciate more and more as you get older. The older I’ve gotten, the more I’ve valued the highly detailed, beautifully written letters and postcards that they’ve sent me from around the world and their much-anticipated visits.

IMG_1894

A couple years ago, my grandfather’s health began to fail him and he finally had to move from his home and his wife into a facility with round-the-clock care. It’s a great place and I’m glad he’s there but…it’s just hard to see him there.

So this quilt, from a pattern called Squadron, was a way for me to honor my grandfather and hopefully let him know I’m thinking of him. Red, white, and blue are not really my colors (what can I say – I didn’t grow up in the States!) but I really like how this turned out. Can you see the planes, flying in formation?

IMG_3277

I tried a little something new on the back. Using my Cricut, I cut out Grandfather’s initials on cardstock, then used the page as a stencil to trace out letters that I appliqued to the quilt back.

IMG_3281

This will be out in the mail later this week, on it’s way to a much-loved gentleman in California.

*Fabrics are a mix of Moda’s Russian Tradition and some from my stash. The pattern “Squadron” comes from a book called Little Bits Quilting by Kathreen Ricketson.

 

2 thoughts on “For Grandfather

  1. Nesta says:

    It’s a beautiful quilt for a special man. Love the initials on the back too.

  2. Leslie says:

    That quilt is beautiful, very special.
    I really enjoy reading your blog which is why I just nominated you for a Liebster award, it’s way for bloggers to recognized other bloggers. Anyway check it out on my blog here http://thepurplebug.blogspot.com/

    Can’t wait to see your response!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
