Ahoy!

2

October 28, 2013 by Melissa

IMG_3190

I forgot to post this little bit of excitement last week. A friend is expecting a little boy in a couple weeks. There haven’t been a lot of babies around here lately so I was pretty excited to have a reason for a little snuggly project. I finished piecing it after I had spent about two weeks in my “Month of Free Motion Quilting” so I thought I’d give it a try.

No pressure, right? I only spent a few days piecing this cute quilt top and then I was going to get all crazy with a spring motion foot on it. What could go wrong? Oh, and I used a navy minky on the back which only added to the difficultly. And since the top was primarily white, I really needed to use different bobbin and top thread colors. That shouldn’t complicate matters, right?

HA.

I quilted, I stopped, I seam ripped, I emailed a friend for advice, I started drinking, I broke my spring motion foot…

And then I got in the groove and got this cutie finished! Yay – my first free motion quilt!

IMG_3192

IMG_3194

The details –

  • Fabric – Out to Sea by Sarah Jane with white Kona and navy minky
  • Pattern – Dapper Canon from Camille Roskelley’s book Simply Retro
  • Size – approximately 40 x 45″

What I learned from this project:

1. Start small. A baby quilt was the right size for my first FMQ project.

2. Don’t use batting with minky – it’s probably too heavy for north Florida!

3. Using different colors for the bobbin and top thread is hard! Avoid it at all costs.

IMG_3193

2 thoughts on “Ahoy!

  1. wombatquilts says:

    I love this fabric line and you have made a beautiful quilt out of it.

  2. Cindy says:

    I’m hoarding some of the prints from that line. This is a sweet little quilt, and you deserve some serious back slapping for quilting with minky. I know Marcy says it’s easy, but she says EVERYTHING is easy. I also like the FMQ because it looks like rope lines.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
