And another!

2

October 25, 2013 by Melissa

This week I finished another of my Christmas gifts – this one a quilt for my mother-in-law. She likes blues and purples, neither of which are my favorites. I struggled to find fabric that I thought she would like (and that I wouldn’t hate!). And I struggled to find a design that would showcase a variety of prints. And once I finally pieced it, I struggled to do anything else with it because I just wasn’t drawn to this project.

Finally, after it stared at me for weeks, I set a goal for myself to get the darn thing quilted and bound and done THIS WEEK.

IMG_3196    

Since I’ve been practicing my free motion quilting skills I took the leap and did this one myself. I agonized over how to quilt it. I didn’t want to pick something too difficult or too time consuming. I settled on simple loops and double loops on the print fabrics only. When I had done about 8 blocks I had a total change of heart about this quilt. I love the way the quilting looks on the back! Sure, it’s a bit wonky – my stitches are certainly not all the same length and a few times the bobbin thread pokes through on the front. But I did it!!!

IMG_3198

IMG_3197IMG_3195

Some of the details –

  • Fabric: Poetica by Art Gallery Fabrics, with Kona white and an AGF turquoise on the back
  • Pattern: inspired by a table runner in Camille Roskelley’s book Simplify
  • Size: about 50 x 50″

I’m still struggling with FMQ but I can definitely see a difference from when I started. I even added a little secret something to this one – my MIL’s name, Shelby, stitched here. It’s subtle and shows up better on the back (but of course in reverse).

IMG_3201IMG_3200

What I learned from this project:

If I’m not enjoying a project, just plow through it. I might like it when all is said and done or I might not. Regardless, done is better than perfect and a whole lot better than undone!

IMG_3199

2 thoughts on “And another!

  1. I love it! I think you did a wonderful job…think you’ve encouraged me to “plow through” a few of my UFO (unfinished objects) that I lost steam on. Maybe they’ll turn out better than I thought. Thanks for sharing! 😉 Jane

  2. wombatquilts says:

    What a pretty quilt. The colours are so soft and inviting.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
