Modern Maples

4

September 16, 2013 by Melissa

The ECMQG has been doing a quilt along of Modern Maples from Pretty in Patchwork. We were scheduled to share our finished quilts at this month’s meeting and I was super excited to be on schedule if nothing else!

IMG_2932

IMG_2934

Don’t adjust your monitor – I somehow ended up with two slightly different shades of white. The good news – it’s only obvious in pictures 🙂

I used Denyse Schmidt’s Flea Market Fancy with a big gingham check on the back. I’m pleased with how it turned out. But to be honest, when I started seeing the creative varieties of fabrics that the other quilters had put together, I had some doubts about my “safe” choice. There were some amazing combinations! I started to feel a little lazy about mine – all I did was pick a fat quarter bundle with some fall colors in it and some solid white for the background. But when it was all said and done, I like it. Mine version is a simple quilt and I’m a simple girl so I’m happy with it and will thoroughly enjoy it on the screened porch this fall (maybe with some matching pillows!).

IMG_2933

 

What I learned from this project

Pay attention to the backing. This will annoy me to no end. I swear I had the pattern on the gingham backing fabric lined up properly but obviously not! I am 100% committed to getting this right next time. IMG_2936

4 thoughts on “Modern Maples

  1. Nesta says:

    I love the colours and the giant gingham on the back is really cool!

  2. Kira Bell says:

    Beautiful!! Your fabrics sing harmoniously!

  3. Cindy says:

    It is a beautiful quilt. Congrats on finishing it…some of us still have to do so.

  4. Debbie says:

    Oh I think you used an awesome choice of fabrics even though you went the ‘easy’ way in your own mind – you obviously knew what would work well. The quilt is lovely! I’d love if you cared to add it to my Modern Maples flickr group:
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/fallingformodernmaples/members/
    Also I like your grid quilting for this design. Nice.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
