A Finish!

1

August 14, 2013 by Melissa

I started my Christmas projects in May. Yep, I’m that sort of person. Roll your eyes if you want, but come December, I’m lounging around in my jammies with some cocoa and not a care in the world!

I now have two quilts finished and since my family doesn’t know about this little blog, I can go ahead and share them with you here! I’ll save the other one for later this week when I can take some pictures outside.

IMG_2902

This is Camille Roskelley’s pattern Dream Big from her book Simplify. It was pretty daunting at first because of the tedious planning stage, but it actually came together pretty quickly after that.

IMG_2903

It’s for my husband’s granny. She is 96 years old and very sharp but doesn’t get around much. A lap quilt (this one is 48 x 54″) will be a good size for her.
I used a jelly roll of Odds & Ends along with some cream for the border and the small green floral for the binding. The back is a slightly antique looking red solid.

IMG_2905

My quilting is still pretty rough but I can see some improvement at least. Granny quilted when she was younger so I hope she’ll appreciate my imperfections as part of the learning process!

What I learned from this project:

An extension table makes a big difference in the quality and ease of quilting. I bought one for about $100 and it is certainly worth it. I didn’t have it yet when I quilted this project and it shows – even something small like this quilt pulled while I sewed and left some of my quilting lines a little wonky. But done is better than perfect, right?!

One thought on “A Finish!

  1. Cindy says:

    You and Wendi are just completing everything in sight! I wish I could be like y’all. As for slight wonky-ness and imperfections, it’s the personal touch. She’s going to love it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
