Dream Big

3

July 16, 2013 by Melissa

First, please pat me on the back – I have started making Christmas gifts already. One is being quilted (not by me, thank God); one I have bought the fabrics for; and one is in progress and driving me insane!20130716-071247.jpg

This is “Dream Big” from Camille Roskelley’s book Simplify. It’s really very cool. I selected this design because:

  1. It’s for my husband’s grandmother who will love the slightly vintage look of it as well as the crosses.
  2. It uses a jelly roll which I have never used before but wanted to try.
  3. I love Camille’s patterns so this one would be great too.

But let’s discuss reason #3.

Saturday was the monthly guild meeting and sew day for the Emerald Coast Modern Quilt Guild. I had my jelly roll cut and assumed I’d spend the afternoon laying out the design and piecing my rows. Oh how I wish I had a picture to share with you! I spent hours just laying out all of these pieces, numbering them, and pinning them together in the hopes that I wouldn’t get them out of order. I never turned on my sewing machine on Saturday. Pitiful.

20130716-071240.jpg

I was so annoyed by this layout that I considered scrapping the whole project. The ladies in the guild were even teasing me about this undertaking. A few times they asked me sarcastically if I’d be bringing this finished quilt to next month’s meeting.

Well guess what, ladies! I haven’t let it beat me yet. The piecing is actually going very quickly – I have 10 rows left and should knock that out today! “Dream Big” may make an appearance next month after all!

Dream Big in Odds & Ends - a WIP

Dream Big in Odds & Ends – a WIP

3 thoughts on “Dream Big

  1. Kira Bell says:

    Oh, how lovely!!! I can’t wait to see it in person, next month (wink)
    Kira

  2. Cindy says:

    So do you think it’s easier to make a Plus Quilt like this or with squares? I keep looking at them – Plus Quilts – but haven’t figured out which way is easier.

  3. […] is Camille Roskelley’s pattern Dream Big from her book Simplify. It was pretty daunting at first because of the tedious planning stage, but it actually came together pretty quickly after […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
