What’s new in the craft room?

1

June 19, 2013 by Melissa

I’m not very good at this blog thing lately. It’s so nice not to be strapped to a desk all day but that does seem to reduce my postings by about half. Of course, it also doubles my crafting so who cares!

I had a couple of hours free on Sunday so I tried something new. I pinned the Forest Quilt Along a while back and figured someday, when I have some quilting experience and feel a little confident, I might – might – try this awesome thing. Well I certainly don’t have that experience or confidence yet but I tried it anyway. And you know what? It wasn’t so bad! I did the first block – the woodpecker. This is certainly a practice piece for me. There are a few issues. For one thing, I didn’t print the templates from a PDF so the size was off a tad and my block is smaller than it should be. (*did you know that Google docs don’t print accurate sizes? Always print them from the PDF files instead.) Second, I wish I had used a print for the background rather than solid white and cream to add more interest. And third, he needs a little more contrast between his head feathers and his eye and beak. But the good news is that it was sort of fun and I might just try the whole darn QAL.

20130619-092433.jpg

Cindy, if you’re reading this, you inspired me! Cindy makes beautiful improv, quilt-as-you-go pillows. I’m a planner so I wasn’t quite sure how I’d feel about this but I gave it a shot. It was time-consuming for sure. I really like the result and I’m ready to try it again. Next time, I would think more about my color placement – maybe try a smoother progression of colors, maybe monochromatic. I would also try to make the design more circular (see how the central piece is a triangle? More sides would have made the whole thing scrappier. Next time…). My husband said this looked very Florida-like. I suggested that it’s like viewing Florida from a hurricane’s point of view. He thought that was sort of depressing.

20130619-092442.jpg

The Emerald Coast Modern Quilt Guild is having a pot holder challenge. Turns out I suck at binding curves. Oh well. I wasn’t planning to go into a career in pot holder manufacturing anyway.

20130619-092450.jpg

Of all that I did last week and last weekend, I am most proud of this little project.

20130619-092425.jpg

That, my friends, is my baseboard – with NO PUPPY TEETH MARKS! I replaced or repaired all the damaged baseboards in the house. I am a master of wood putty. That should totally go on my resume.

One thought on “What’s new in the craft room?

  1. Cindy says:

    Blush! Your pillow, and the potholder are terrific! And those are FL colors – citrus and the Gulf of Mexico. I also am in awe of that woodpecker. I looked at the Forest QAL, and knew I didn’t have the patience. I’ll live vicariously through you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
