Mom’s X+ Quilt

3

June 10, 2013 by Melissa

I don’t remember how long ago it was that I started this quilt. Originally, I saw a photo of a similar one on Pinterest, fell in love, and made a decision that, come hell or high water, as God as my witness, I will make that amazing quilt. The original photo also used Anna Maria Horner Field Study prints and luckily, I already had nearly the full line in fat quarters and half yards. The problematic part for me was choosing the dark and light values. I’m not very adept at mixing fabric lines. I envy those quilters who can coordinate fabrics so easily. Maybe that’s partly why I wanted to force myself to make this – to practice mixing fabrics. Well it worked – ever since I started the x+ quilt, I’ve become much more bold (relatively) at pairing prints from different lines and designers.

So here she is, in all her bohemian, crazy glory.

Craftygood's X+ Quilt
I really love this quilt. It took forever. If I did it again, I would increase the size of the blocks to 12″ (they’re 8″). I would also consider having it professionally quilted – my lines are a bit wonky.

Craftygood's X+ Quilt
The best part of this quilt is that it’s going to my mom, who will actually USE it! I wanted to keep this one but the reality is, it would sit in a sweetly folded little bundle in a cabinet because it matches nothing I own. My mom told me recently that she would like a quilt – my mom who loves to mix and match colors and patterns in her decorating. A match made in heaven!Craftygood's X+ Quilt

What I learned from this project

Challenges hurt a little but they are so worth it. This one was a challenge in fabric selection, in time, and in style but I’m so glad I stuck with it.

*Sorry for the lousy photos – tons of rain here this weekend! This was the driest and brightest it got in two days.

3 thoughts on “Mom’s X+ Quilt

  1. Nesta says:

    Well done, it’s really something! I’ve been following on your journey with this quilt and you’ve done a really good job!

  2. zachandclem says:

    gorgeous!

  3. Cindy says:

    That is one BEAUTIFUL quilt! Well done.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
