A little gift from the crafty husband

4

May 30, 2013 by Melissa

When I began quilting in January of this year, my finished projects quickly piled up in a corner of the craft room. Even though they were clearly beginner projects, I thought it would be nice to display them in some way. I found some great ideas on Pinterest and finally settled on an old (or faux old) ladder on which to hang my little crappy quilts. Well on Mother’s Day (because I’m a pet mom), my husband returned from his weekly pilgrimage to Lowe’s with some random pieces of wood and informed me that he was starting a little craft project of his own!

20130530-102821.jpg

distressing the wood

I’m so proud of him for making this for me. After work for a couple of nights he would spend time cutting, sanding, staining, painting and distressing my new/old ladder. I love it!

20130530-IMG_2810
It’s great that the ladder allows me to display only a little of each quilt (so I can hide all those beginner-level mistakes!) but makes them accessible enough to pull one out if I want to use it or show it off.

20130530-IMG_2811
The best part of it though is that it was made for me with love.
Oh, and now I have to get my husband a table saw for Christmas.

4 thoughts on “A little gift from the crafty husband

  1. What a beautiful display! Really shows off your quilts nicely…he’s a keeper! 😉

  2. Aren’t handy hubbies the best? 🙂

  3. Cindy says:

    He could have a side business making quilt ladders. Just sayin’…

  4. Donna says:

    aww, I remember a long time ago getting a ‘gift’ for Mother’s Day as a petmom but I think it was only 1 time! oh well. Your hubby is definitely a keeper, your quilts look beautiful too! I just saw your crafty space on the AGF website and got tears in my eyes about the proposal, how romantic! You are a blessed lady and your space is just dreamy! oh and I TOTALLY understand the bed thing!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
