How you doin’?

1

May 17, 2013 by Melissa

Week 1 of my “retirement” is drawing to a close and I’ve got to admit – it’s fabulous! Friends keep asking me how I like being a “lady of leisure” which makes me laugh. Here’s why.
My week:

  • wake up at 5:30 – walk dog for 30 minutes
  • make (yes, MAKE) breakfast
  • run (yes, RUN) to gym; workout for 30-40 minutes; run home
  • work around the house (this has included painting the floor in the basement, cleaning out a cabinet, cleaning the house entirely, gardening, washing the dog, and washing all the windows)
  • run errands
  • walk dog again
  • cook dinner
  • walk dog again
  • clean kitchen
  • attend committee meetings and special events (3 nights this week)

So I hesitate to call this leisure but I’m certainly not complaining. In fact, I’m loving all of this. For so long now, I’ve felt very frustrated by the way all the little things in our lives pile up on the weekends and for once, I’m able to take care of it all on my own schedule. (cue Mel Gibson in face paint yelling “FREEDOM!”)

I have noticed that I’m not doing much blogging these days. I’m sure I’ll get back on track once the novelty of all this freedom wears off a little. I’ve missed you – how you doin’?

I’ve done a little crafting this week too. I finally finished all the blocks for my x+ quilt (whew!) – 63 blocks in total. Give me another week or so to square these puppies up and I might have a quilt top to show you!

20130517-211512.jpg

I’m really excited for this little project (ordered today!) – Maggie Rabbit by Alicia Paulson of Posie Gets Cozy. Isn’t this adorably sweet?!

maggierabbit

My husband asked why I’m going to make a stuffed rabbit and what I would do with it. Sigh…sometimes it’s like he doesn’t even know me.

I love that you can order the Maggie Rabbit kit with your choice of Liberty fabric for her dress! And I love Alicia’s blog. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen a more adorable baby than her’s.

Art Student Tote pattern

Also on the way is the Art Student Tote pattern from Anna Maria Horner. I’m using a black blender for the main fabric with two Rock & Romance patterns for the accents. My husband will probably ask my why I’m going to make this too.  I swear…

One thought on “How you doin’?

  1. I’m so happy you’re enjoying your new FREEDOM! You summed retirement up so nicely…we’re busy, but its on our own timeframe–not trying to cram it all into the weekends anymore. ENJOY! …love your quilt top, by the way. 😉 Jane

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
