Summer Sampler Series

3

April 11, 2013 by Melissa

Last week I started my first sampler quilt. Summer Sampler Series is a quilt along from 2012 (so I don’t have to wait for the next installments!) hosted by Fresh Lemons Quilts.

I’m halfway through the series and I’m really enjoying learning about and trying out all of the blocks. I’ve never done traditional blocks before; I guess I thought they were too old fashioned for my style. But I’m finding that I really love the look of some of them and I’ll definitely use them again in modern quilts. The Star of Virginia and the Flower Garden Path so far are my favorites.

All of my blocks are using MoMo’s Oh Deer! line.

Another bonus – some of these blocks used paper piecing – a whole new skill for me. It wasn’t nearly as difficult as I expected and I’m really happy with how precise and sharp the points in those blocks.

With six blocks to go, I hope to finish up the quilt top by next week!

 series
3 thoughts on “Summer Sampler Series

  1. […] day of Close to My Heart scrapbooking on Saturday and a few hours on Sunday trying to wrap up my Summer Sampler Series quilt top. I should have some time tonight to add the sashing and take some pictures to share. We’ll […]

  2. […] inspired to try the Summer Sampler Series on Fresh Lemon Quilts a few weeks back. As I mentioned before, this was my first “traditional” block quilt and my first time paper piecing. I truly […]

  3. […] brought along my Summer Sampler Series quilt in order to hand-bind it, which I did, on our balcony watching the dolphins frolic. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
