Feather Bed

Leave a comment

April 9, 2013 by Melissa

Earlier this year when I decided to try my hand at quilting, it was because I was inspired by a beautiful line of fabrics I saw on Pinterest – Field Study by Anna Maria Horner. After I ordered the fat quarters, I started searching for a quilt pattern and – lo and behold – Anna Maria had a free pattern using Field Study available on her website.

feather.bed

Feather Bed comes in a variety of sizes and was easy enough for a beginner like me to follow. I finished the quilt top rather quickly but I was at a loss as to how to quilt it. Even though I had done a few patchwork baby quilts ten or so years ago, I had never done anything but hand tie the quilt sandwiches. I knew that wouldn’t work for this one. So one day when I was visiting A&E Pharmacy (my LQS), I mentioned my dilemma and found out that A&E has an amazing professional quilter – Nancy Troyner. I was a little apprehensive about leaving my very first “real” quilt with a stranger but Nancy totally put me at ease. A few weeks later, Nancy called to say that my little Feather Bed was done…

IMG_2676 IMG_2677 IMG_2679 IMG_2680

Oh my word! I can’t believe how beautiful it is! Nancy is amazing and I’m already planning more designs to take to her.

I just love this pattern too. Recently, I found this more impromptu version of Feather Bed so I’m going to give it a shot. Eek! Impromptu is not my thing! I’m imagining it in Charleston Farmhouse fabrics…

Native quilt

Thank you so much Nancy for your beautiful work on this little quilt! I’m going to treasure it for years to come.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
