Lucy’s Crab Shack

3

April 5, 2013 by Melissa

I searched high and low for a layer cake of Lucy’s Crab Shack a few weeks back. Finally I had to suck it up and buy it from an individual dealer on Etsy. I love shopping at Etsy but I’m hestitant to buy from individuals for some reason. Am I the only one?

Anyway, it had to be a layer cake because I was dreaming of making this quilt top from a free pattern at Moda Bake Shop (FREE!).

ModaBakeShop

My favorite part is the bottom right square with the applique initial. Of course this presents a problem because I don’t know who I’m making this for! I’m a little OCD so it’s killing me not to finish this quilt. I’m trying to think of it as an exercise in will power. Just put the quilt top down, lady. Let it go.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a self-taught, very novice quilter but I assume these are what are called postage stamp blocks. As little as they were, it was easy to put these together.

IMG_2674

IMG_2675

Here’s the (nearly) complete quilt top. I’ve since finished the borders on the sides but that little applique spot sits unadorned, haunting me…

IMG_0527

Someday little square…someday.

3 thoughts on “Lucy’s Crab Shack

  1. Nesta says:

    It looks great! I’d really like to try it too! My daughter is called Lucy so… I’m sure you’ll find the right letter when you least expect it! Did it take long to make? The mini blocks look really tiny to sew together.

    • Melissa says:

      Your Lucy definitely needs a Lucy’s Crab Shack quilt! It didn’t take as long as expected. It’s sewn in strips and then cut and rearranged. In total this one took me about 4 hours.

  2. primal quilting says:

    Very cute pattern! I love moda bake shop.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
