Circus Peanuts

6

April 1, 2013 by Melissa

Hello! I’m back from a wonderful 11-day hiatus that included great friends, skiing, snow, sunshine, lots of food, and a good deal of crafting. I’m a little blue now that I’m back to the daily grind though. There should be a term for that feeling (post-holiday reality disenchantment?).

I have so much to share from my crafty time but I don’t want to bombard you with one giant post so here’s just one project to start with. I cut up the fabric for this quilt a few weeks back and while doing so, I kept thinking about circus peanuts – you know, those nasty orange candies that taste like old gum?

I guess it was the color. Hence, I named this quilt Circus Peanuts. The colors are based on Pantone’s spring color trends and the back fabric is Jay McCarroll’s City Center – Denver in Midtown (which is funny because my vacation was in Denver).

circuspeanuts2

circuspeanuts3

I quilted it with parallel straight lines along all the seams. I’m keeping this one on our covered porch to snuggle up with when it’s just a wee bit too cool out for my liking.

What I learned from this project:

Precise seams are really important. This quilt was great for practicing joining seams together. Those places where my seams weren’t perfect were very obvious. Next time, I will take care to match up my edges better.

6 thoughts on “Circus Peanuts

  1. Really cute quilt! And I love the name you gave it!
    Esther

  2. Nina says:

    I love the colors in your quilt. Circus Peanuts is the perfect name!

  3. You look like you have a great eye for colour- Circus Peanuts is very nice!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
