Travel Projects

3

March 20, 2013 by Melissa

I have a vacation coming up later this week so I’m frantically searching for some travel entertainment. I like to “over pack” these things because you know when you only bring one magazine, that’s the time your flight gets delayed for 8 hours. My plan is to have one book, one movie, and one craft project. I figure I have my bases covered that way.

The book:

9780307341556_p0_v1_s260x420

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Did you read Gone Girl? Were you as distrubed as I was? This is the same author. It might be a little disturbing for a vacation but I’m pretty sure it will hook me if it’s anything like Gone Girl.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Movie:

Anna Karenina

Anna Karenina is one of my favorite books (it’s like I have a thing for dark, twisted, and tragic stories, eh?). I wanted to see this when it came out in theaters but it didn’t get rave reviews. Now is my chance. Even if it sucks, I’ll probably fall asleep on the plane (red eye – yea).

 

 

 

 

 

The craft project:

yougogirl.typepad.com

yougogirl.typepad.com

I found this little precious on Pinterest long ago and thought it would be perfect travel project inspiration. Usually I take some sort of knitting with me on flights but that always means lugging around a few balls of yarn and some unweildy needles and sometimes poking the eye out of that kid who won’t shut up next to me. This could be safer. This is from You Go Girl. Her embroidery doodles are so stinkin’ adorable! I’m going to attempt some sort of circular sampler that will not look nearly as darling as this.

Next week I have something utterly beautiful to show you. I’m squealing right now just thinking about it! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Travel Projects

  1. Alia says:

    I watched Anna Karenina on the plane a few weeks ago! Did you end up seeing it? And like it? This and Crime and Punishment are a couple of my favorite books… I’m with you on the dark and twisted stories 🙂

    • Melissa says:

      Yes, I watched it (and loved it!). I have a post about it today. There was one little scene that was possibly inappropriate to watch on a plane but luckily everyone else was asleep!

  2. […] I left for my vacation, I wrote about my plans for keeping busy while I travel. I always like to have a variety of entertainment options so I took a book, a movie, and a craft […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
