Starbuck’s Banana Walnut bread

1

March 12, 2013 by Melissa

20130312-130325.jpg

My husband rolls his eyes everytime I suggest that we stop by my favorite little neighborhood cafe for some coffee when we’re out running errands (hey – if I have to wander the aisles of Lowe’s for an hour, at least let me do it with a latte). But lately, he’s been more inclined to stop because he discovered Starbuck’s banana walnut bread. Being the sweet wife that I am, I found a recipe for it on Pinterest and made a loaf last night.

Problems:

1. Buttermilk? Who really has that? Luckily milk and lemon juice substitute just fine.

2. Vegetable oil? Hmm…I knew I was forgetting something at the grocery store this week. Let’s try olive oil and canola oil instead.

3. Bake for 45-60 minutes? More like 75 minutes (perhaps due to problem #2???).

Result:

Really good! It tastes better than the Starbuck’s version in my opinion and it made a really good sized loaf so I froze a third of it and cut the rest up for my husband to take to work to snack on all week.

So maybe this doesn’t qualify as “crafty” but whatever – it’s my blog.

Here’s the recipe

One thought on “Starbuck’s Banana Walnut bread

  1. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m
    definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
