Weekend Projects – scrapbooking and quilting

Leave a comment

February 18, 2013 by Melissa

I made a lot of progress towards finishing my 2012 scrapbook on Saturday. Unfortunately, I’m still waiting on my photos to come in so I have a nice stack of assembled pages with no images yet.

In other crafy goodness, I completed my best/worst crib sized quilt to date. Best because the quilt top is awesome! I used Moda Bake Shop’s Pinwheel Baby Quilt with Sweetwater’s Noteworthy line.

The pattern is simple – just pinwheels and prairie points using a charm pack. This was my first time using prairie points – how fun! I’ll definitely use them again.

image217a

Now, why was this the worst quilt to date? Because I tried my hand at free motion machine quilting. Yes, I practiced on scraps for several days beforehand but nothing prepared me for how bad I would be on a real quilt! I just did a simple arc pattern around all of the blocks and outlined the whole thing with straight lines. It was awful. Hence, no closeups of this one!

image217b image217c

And if you’re picky (like me) you’ll also notice that I didn’t keep my pinwheels all going the same direction. Oops. I’m not too concerned with all these issues though. Most of these quilts are just for fun and practice so a few screw ups will just be fun to laugh at later on…hopefully.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
