Weekend Project – cards, cake, and quilt

Leave a comment

February 11, 2013 by Melissa

I didn’t have a lot of time to spend on big projects this weekend, so instead I focused on a few little things I wanted to make.

First, cards.

20130211-095955.jpg

Valentine’s card using Close to My Heart’s La Belle Vie papers.

20130211-100003.jpg

Another La Belle Vie Valentine’s card.

20130211-100009.jpg

Inside of card.

I made two Valentine’s cards with Close to My Heart’s La Belle Vie paper pack. I haven’t used this paper in my scrap books yet but I will now. I love the way it came together on these cards.

20130211-100016.jpg

An Easter card using an old CTMH stamp, Sensational Season, and Lucy papers.

20130211-100040.jpg

Inside of card.

20130211-100054.jpg

St. Patrick’s Day card using CTMH’s Take Luck stamp set (retired) and Splendor papers (retired).

I think I’m going to set aside a day to use my old paper packs for projects like these. When I thought about making a St. Patrick’s Day card, I didn’t think I had any paper packs that would work. But looky there – the scraps from an old Splendor pack were perfect.

My second weekend project was a success too. We have dinner with a small group of friends from our church once a month or so. If we eat in, each of the four couples brings a dish. It was my turn for dessert. Last week I ordered a King Cake mix for a friend who recently moved up north (eek!). I wondered why it cost so much on Amazon – turns out I ordered two. But that happy accident meant that I made this for dessert –

20130211-100059.jpg

King Cake

I’m not a big fan of King Cakes but this was pretty good – not at all sticky or too sweet the way that store bought cakes are. If you’re interested, it’s Mam Papaul’s King Cake Mix.

Side note – the box will tell you not to put the baby in the cake (party poopers!). I did. And then I started to wonder, as my cake baked, at what temperature do plastic babies melt? Luckily, the answer is not 375 degrees. The baby was intact, and no one choked.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
