Sewing Machine Trauma

Leave a comment

January 23, 2013 by Melissa

My mom bought me my sweet little Singer many years ago and it served me well. But at some point, a girl just has to fish or cut bait and a few weeks ago, I reached that point. Little Singer kept losing tension and she always had been a noisy thing. But the biggest problem was her tiny little harp (which I have learned is the term for the space between the needle and the neck of the machine). No matter how hard I tried, there was no way I would ever be able to quilt anything larger than a placemat. I knew if I really wanted to take up quilting again, it was time for an upgrade.

The first stop was our hometown sewing machine store – a Bernina dealer.

Oh my word.
I am in love…with a $6,000 machine.

My very supportive husband shot me down (gently). So the next stop was Joann where I found a Husqvarna Sapphire 835. For $800 I got a good quality machine that will easily handle all I can put through it. Sure, it doesn’t print on fabric, cut out designs, embroider at all, cut your thread for you, or keep your coffee mug warm but I’m pretty happy with it.

Rumor has it that 835 is being discontinued and reissued with some changes. Based on about 40 hours of use, here are my thoughts.  Keep in mind that I am totally behind the times in regards to sewing machine technology.

  1. Semi-automatic needle threader – I had no idea this even existed.  I like it.  I can see that the little piece that grabs your thread and pulls it through the needle eye will probably break someday. It’s delicate.
  2. Harp area – I love this space.  I think it has 8″ to the right of the needle. I know you can find larger machines than this but it’s a huge improvement for me.
  3. Stitches – Honestly, I’ve only used two so far but I have played with a few others. The 835 has 105 stitches. My old machine had 4. So there you have it.
  4. The Sewing Advisor – So you tell the machine what fabric or stitch you’re using and it tells you what needle, speed, stitch length, foot, and tension to use. Well that’s easy and I love it.
  5. Tension – ugh. If it wasn’t for improper tension we would all make our own clothes. Surely we would. I’ve found that I have to adjust the tension more often than I expected. I’m hoping that we just need to get to know each other a little better. So far, there has been some crying in the craft room.

All in all, I’m pretty happy with my new friend. Sure, I would love to embroider everything in the house and I can’t do that, but perhaps I’ll move up to a Bernina in a year or so once I have some quilting experience under my belt.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Come shop with me

Let’s Meet!

Lily's Quilts
